TSGL: google

Glen Bigelow glen_bigelow at yahoo.com
Sun Dec 17 13:02:55 EST 2006


Don,

I only know that dc.com is company involved with spyware or adware.
Companies subscribe to their services of providing typical user usage
information.

Glen B.
Sacramento, CA

-----Original Message-----
From: list-bounces at tsgserver.com [mailto:list-bounces at tsgserver.com] On
Behalf Of Don Penlington
Sent: Saturday, December 16, 2006 11:58 PM
To: Tech Support Guy Mailing List
Subject: TSGL: google

I'm assisting a reader having browser problems.

She reports a reference to d o u b l e click.com coming up. ( It's all one 
word-----I've deliberately obfuscated this for reasons below--I'll refer to 
it as "dc".)

This  rang some warning bells somewhere deep in the inner recesses of my 
memory, so I Googled for dc and dc.com.

Strangely, in each case the result was a blank Google page---not the usual 
"No results" page---just a completely blank page.  Googling for singleclick 
produced plenty of answers, so it's not the context causing this.

This makes me even more suspicious.

1. Is dc.com sinister?
2. Does anyone else get this same non-response from Google?
3. Is it possible for dc or anyone else to block Google searches about 
itself as a subject? Not just block them, but actually disable Google 
answers? (Might make for an interesting investigation!) I can understand 
that a website could easily hide from the Google bots, that wouldn't be 
hard, but to block ALL queries about itself is a different matter.

Meantime, I'm not game to attempt a visit to dc.com, if even exists. 
Perhaps someone braver or more foolhardy than I might like to try it. just 
don't blame me if it bites you!	

If dc.com is indeed a baddie, perhaps something in my internal security 
might be blocking every browser reference to it, to the extent of blocking 
every Google response.

Even more interesting, when I just tried to send this email with the 
heading "dc (in full)", it refused to send--no error message, nothing.  So 
I've tried another heading, let's see if this one goes.

No, that one wouldn't go, either. So I've removed all references to "dc" 
---something in my security obviously doesn't like it. Which makes me now 
think it could be a virus.  Let's try again.

Don Penlington
 From the Beach at Surfers Paradise in sunny Queensland.
Computer tutorials, local scenery,  and other things at my website:
http://users.tpg.com.au/deepend/index1.html


_______________________________________________
Tech Support Guy Mailing List
http://www.tsgserver.com/list/




More information about the List mailing list